State of the Union

Before I started this week’s task, I couldn’t begin to explain the steps one would take to create a meme.   My husband creates them all the time, prints them off and sticks them in the most obscure places (e.g., my purse, in between the pages of a notepad, lunch box-you name it) waiting for me to discover them.  What a thoughtful gesture, but not once did it occur to me to ask him how he created them (I figured it was more time than I had to spare).  I was content reaping the benefits of finding them… they always seem to bring on a good laugh or head shake at a much needed time.

To my surprise…creating a meme was a quick and easy process when using a meme generator such as quick meme.  The first thing I did was find and save an image that I wanted to use.  I simply uploaded the image into quick meme and a box appeared that prompted me to begin typing the caption that I wanted to use.  I was then given the option to save/share the creation and when selected it generated a link.  The only problem was that I wanted to embed the actual image into my post for this week.  I then attempted to save the image, but it saved as a bitmap. I then decided to use jing to take a screenshot of the image and VOILA!

http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3rrt9w/

I decided to use this image of Obama and Biden because it reiterates the fact that we are living in the age of social media and that it’s here to stay! Heck…if Crazy Joe is able to “get with the program” than anyone can!  I also wanted to pay homage to my EDUC 639 peeps…It’s been a great journey and I’ve learned more than I ever wanted to know about web 2.0 tools this semester (Thanks Matt…harrumph).  So Twitter away folks…I mean tweet away!

 

4 thoughts on “State of the Union

  1. williamboyer says:

    WOW! That’s a great idea!! Thank your husband for me 🙂

  2. mad810 says:

    This picture is so funny!!!

  3. I like your statement about learning more than you wanted about Web 2.0….not sure how much of this I will continue myself, but it was good to find out that it exists.

  4. kotchjester says:

    Great Meme… and I love your final comment. I too have learned more than I could fathom ever using daily!!

Leave a Reply

