‘Brands are the express checkout for people living their lives at ever increasing speed.’ –Brandweek

WordPress: FAIL- I have to agree with Alex- I’m not a fan of Wordpress right now.  It wouldn’t allow me to post and then once I posted and wanted to edit it crashed!

 In “The Brand Called You,” Tom Peters talked about the importance of creating a brand for yourself. Branding is a way for people to build reputations and make contributions to their area of expertise. The ever-evolving market makes it difficult to seperate yourself from the competition.  A well written resume and educational credentials would have made you marketable five years ago, but this is no longer the case in today’s society.  The current focus is about what makes a person stand out from the pack and since we are now living in the digital age, a person’s online influence is one way for people to grow their brand. 

Seth Stevenson talked about the importance of Klout scores and how they have been used as criteria for candidate assesement.  I can tell you that if a potential employer took a look at my klout scores there’s no way that I would be considered for the job.  So with that said, I decided to revamp my about.me page.  Here’s the before and after…

Image

Image

I completely changed the entire look of this page by changing the background to something original, including a picture, changing up the headers by adding a some key words/attention grabbers. Hope you like the changes!

One thought on “

  1. Esley,

    I DO like your new page. The font you used for your name caught my eye immediately (I am a big fan of fonts.) Th colors you chose for the text also contrast nicely with the black and white background. And the photo of you shows that you’re a little mysterious and fun.

Leave a Reply

